Author Topic: 2D food probe  (Read 829 times)

fyrefytr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
2D food probe
« on: September 20, 2019, 02:53:38 PM »
where are you all running the temp probe? threw the door? concerned that this will cut, damage or crush the probe wire. thx

swthorpe

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2151
    • View Profile
Re: 2D food probe
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2019, 03:52:05 PM »
Run the temp probe through the smoke hole on the top of the smoker and you should be fine.   
Steve from Delaware
Smokin-It #2

old sarge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3160
    • View Profile
Re: 2D food probe
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2019, 11:11:09 PM »
What Steve said; X2!
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066 (retired to my son's home)
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

fyrefytr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 2D food probe
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2019, 04:11:22 PM »
thx guys I thought about that but then you have to bend the probe is that what you all did?

LarryD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • 3DW - San Jose, CA
    • View Profile
Re: 2D food probe
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2019, 05:08:20 PM »
I can't think of a situation where one would need to bend the probe to drop it through the smoke hole.  You will need to move racks/food out of the way, but once the probe is through the cables on most probes are quite flexible so you can turn the probe and place it pretty much anywhere you need it.

thx guys I thought about that but then you have to bend the probe is that what you all did?
------------------------------
See where the Smokin-It Forum Members are located: https://goo.gl/iFgTi1  -- Message me to be added...

old sarge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3160
    • View Profile
Re: 2D food probe
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2019, 09:36:49 PM »
thx guys I thought about that but then you have to bend the probe is that what you all did?

Run the probe wire UP through the hole if you are having difficulty putting the probe down through the hole.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066 (retired to my son's home)
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

swthorpe

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2151
    • View Profile
Re: 2D food probe
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2019, 07:26:48 AM »
X2.  I always start with the probe in the box and push the connector up through the hole.
Steve from Delaware
Smokin-It #2