Author Topic: Newcomer to SI - Couple of Questions After First Few Cooks  (Read 2929 times)

ken h

Newcomer to SI - Couple of Questions After First Few Cooks
« on: February 17, 2019, 06:38:30 PM »
I have a SI 3.5D.  Im new to electric smokers.  I have done 3 smokes with 3.5D and I have a couple of questions.  So far I have done ribs twice and a pork shoulder.  I have been cooking at 225 and I have placed a small water pan in the bottom of the smoker each time.  It is my understanding that with the SI you put the meat on and don’t mess with it until its time to take it out which is contrary to what I have done with the Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker I was using before the SI.  With the Weber I would spritz whatever I had on the pit periodically with apple juice to keep the meet from getting dry on the outside.   The first two cooks I did on the SI I did not check on or spritz the meat during the cook which resulted in the meat being dry on the outside.   The last cook I did was my second go round with ribs.  After about 3 hours I checked them and they were getting dried out.  I would have spritzed them with apple juice but didn’t have any so I basted them with bbq sauce instead and continued to do so periodically until they were done.  The basting kept them from getting dry on the outside.   I need some clarification on whether or not meat on the SI needs some attention during a smoke to keep the outside from becoming dried out or should I be doing something differently?

After my smokes there is still quite a bit of the Smokinlicous wood chunk left over in the form of a blackened chunk of wood.  Can the wood chunks be used again or should you start with a fresh chunk of wood for the next smoke?
Ken H

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: Newcomer to SI - Couple of Questions After First Few Cooks
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2019, 07:38:00 PM »