Author Topic: More "Pullable" Pulled Pork?  (Read 2468 times)

Doc Ox

More "Pullable" Pulled Pork?
« on: May 22, 2018, 01:07:47 PM »
I'm a rookie at smoking, but I've been using my Model 2 since Christmas with good success.  The recipes and advice from everyone on this forum have made all the difference.  Having heard the horror stories from other people about getting up at all hours of the night to babysit their smokers from other manufacturers, I was a bit unsure how much I would enjoy the art of smoking.  But now I find myself wanting to smoke everything ( ;)), and recommending Smokin-It to family and friends at every opportunity.  I've smoked a variety of things so far, including wings, ribs, salmon, pork shoulder, ham, and all have received rave reviews from the family.  Salmon is by far the wife's favorite.  I'm hoping to give pulled pork another try this upcoming Memorial Day weekend, but I need some advice from the experts....

My first try at pulled pork produced delicious results, but we were a little disappointed that it didn't "pull" as easily as other methods (e.g., slow-cooker).  Instead, we had to cut the pork off the bone and then into smaller pieces.  Here's a concise summary of my steps:

-Purchased a 2.75lb shoulder
-Used the popular brining method posted by DivotMaker on this forum
-After brining, rinsed it, patted it dry, applied yellow mustard and then coated it with Famous Dave's Rib Rub
-Used a single 4.4oz Maple block in the smoker
-Poured a 16oz bottle of lager into two small aluminum pans and placed them in the smoker for moisture
-Set the Model 2 set-point to 190deg (didn't pre-heat)
-Intended on using the "2hrs/pound" rule-of-thumb, but didn't get back in time to remove it at 6hrs, so it actually smoked for 7hrs
-Removed it, double-wrapped it in foil and a towel, and placed it in a cooler for 2hrs to allow it to "rest"

Any ideas on what I did (or didn't do) to make it not so "pullable"?  Smoke too long?  Too high of a temperature?