Author Topic: Never smoked anything but my brain before, now it's time to try meat instead!  (Read 1065 times)

Duder

Hey everyone,

Just purchased a 2D last night and am eagerly waiting for it to arrive already. I have no experience in this hobby, but I like to buy once and cry once. The 2D seems perfect for my family's size, the durability looks stellar as well. I think this will be a perfect companion to my propane grill, rather than getting a pellet grill that isn't quite a grill or a smoker. I admit that I almost purchased the Traeger.

My goals this year for 2021 will be:
to smoke once per week and to really perfect the Texas style brisket
to make a steady supply of smoked pork belly for our home's needs
to try new cuts of meat I've never had smoked, like a rib roast or lamb.

I look forward to learning from others on this forum.

Glock_21

Welcome from Oklahoma.

Lots of good information here.
Travis from North Central Oklahoma
SI #3 with Bella Smoke Generator, Traeger Texas Grill, Kamado Joe Classic 3 and Joe Jr, Anova WiFi 900 watt

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
Welcome from Delaware -- you have found the right place!   Like you, I started out with no experience in smoking meat and it only took one smoke to hit the ground running!   Neighbors/friends rave about the quality of smoked meat produced by the SI, and I just enjoy the land of Lazy-Q.   Enjoy!
Steve from Delaware
Smokin-It #2

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Welcome from SE Arizona.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

OldeSmoker