Author Topic: Best thermometer for reading IT?  (Read 4099 times)

Nolenut

Best thermometer for reading IT?
« on: January 19, 2017, 08:31:41 PM »
Any suggestions on IT thermometers?
Rick
Draw Em In Outdoors

SmokedGouda

Re: Best thermometer for reading IT?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2017, 09:43:23 PM »
I'm new to this and I'm sure there are better, more advanced ones, but I use a Maverick. It's not pricey and it's very easy to use and does the job well. The transmitter has room for 2 thermometers. I got an extra meat thermometer with mine so I can have probes in 2 pieces of meat in there and just swap out the smoker temp one if needed.
Phil from NJ
Beginner.
Model 2. Cold smoke plate. Jerky dryer.
Maverick ET-732

old sarge

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2017, 11:07:18 PM »
Steve sells the Maverick thermometers on the website. They are very popular and a good value.  If you have the means ($), Thermoworks has some real dandy thermometers. I have the ThermaQ. Bought it during their open box sale complete with probes.  I like it a lot. Their Smoke unit is wireless.  I also use their Thermapen. DivotMaker (Tony) has been testing a unit called Fireboard which allows for using multiple probes. I have included a link to the posts. And then there is "The Meater", appropriately named.  It is still being fine tuned and you can read about it at the provided link.
http://www.thermoworks.com/BBQ-Grilling
http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=5544.0
http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=4163.0
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2017, 01:46:10 AM »