Author Topic: Newbie's first time smoking whole chickens...  (Read 10417 times)

jumperanger

Newbie's first time smoking whole chickens...
« on: May 20, 2014, 06:31:50 PM »
Hi all.. Jumper here.

I have been smoking for 10 years. I own a Traeger grill and wanted to purchase a new smoker. So I did my research, ended up with the top three, and chose the Smokin-It #3. Nice looking unit, well built. I did the breaking in step for four hours with two pieces of oak wood that I received from the company. The next day I was so excited I bought three whole chickens, washed them, seasoned them up, put three pieces of hickory wood (I even purchased the Amber PID controller) and set the temperature at 225 and the internal temp for 165. They cooked for about three hours and then the alarm went off on the controller...

When I took the chicken out they had a dark color to them, and looked over-smoked. Any advice??

Thank you.

mnsmoker

Re: Newbie's first time smoking whole chickens...
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 06:50:13 PM »
The real question how did they taste.? I have found smoke tends to collect on the skin easily. I have done 4 chickens numerous times I use about 3 ounces of wood, if the skin appears to over smoked you could just discard as long as your flavor is there. Next time try about half the wood as see if that helps, the fun part is the experimenting with these smokers, good luck !!!
Jim from Minnesota

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 07:43:21 PM »
Hi Jumper, and welcome to the party!  We're glad you're here!  Jim's right about the amount of wood.  Most people with a smoker background in "traditional" smokers have a little more difficult time adjusting to just how little wood these smokers need!  When you tell someone with a pellet grill, or stick burner of some sort, to start thinking in mere "ounces," it's hard to believe!  If you don't have a digital kitchen scale, I recommend getting one - it really helps!