Poll

Is there a big difference and if so y?

Will ribs be better?
0 (0%)
Will butt need a water pan?
1 (100%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Author Topic: PID should i buy it or no!  (Read 4648 times)

501 Smoque

PID should i buy it or no!
« on: January 05, 2014, 08:01:58 PM »
Im new to this i was going to get a cookshack but this is the same but better just no digital temp

Wik

Re: PID should i buy it or no!
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2014, 08:12:11 PM »
Do you need the PID, no it is not necessary but I believe you can have tighter temp control range.  But the reason I went for it was to have the ability to set various steps.  Meaning I can have it do the following:
Step 1 - Heat Smoker to 225F until internal meat temp hits 203F (for Pork Butt)
Step 2 - Change Smoker to 140F for X hrs to keep it warm till I have a chance to check on it

It allows you to set up to 6 different steps.  Granted will it make any better BBQ?  Well that is all up for debate, I just like the additional accuracy it allow and the steps.  Plus if you are like me, I purchased the smoker as-is, then later decided on the PID to spread out the costs.

Let me know if you have any other questions, I'll try and help but I only have about 5-6 smokes under my belt with it.
Chad from Moorhead, MN
Proud #3 Owner

Three Sons BBQ

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 09:09:50 PM »
I agree with Wik.

I did a whacko spreadsheet listing out each OEM, the features, and the cost.
I found that going with SI3, cart, and Auber was still a better deal by far versus anything else.

I will see if I have my summary notes... But once I wrote it all down to compare side by side it was a no brainer.

I will say I was able to waive shipping charges because I picked it up in store.... Plus ordering on cyber Monday got me about $60 of accessories of which the cover i knew I would get.

No idea if it helps the end results... But because I was going all in ... According to my standards... I wanted the temp control perfect.