Author Topic: Hello, newbie here!  (Read 1449 times)

pontrumlee

Hello, newbie here!
« on: December 05, 2018, 09:26:13 AM »
Hi all, just joined the forum, figured I would introduce myself. We have semi-recently moved to Texas and have discovered smoking. I am a huge BBQ guy, but never tried smoking until recently. Anyway.... My Weber Performer grill got damaged in transit when we moved, so I purchased a Kamado as a replacement. Since it's capable of smoking I gave it a whirl. WOW, my wife and kids ate that up. That was 9 months ago. I still smoke weekly in the Kamado. While I love my Kamado, smoking in it is not exactly easy.

Between adjusting air vents to hold the right temp, adding lump charcoal,  getting ready to put a brisket or rack of ribs on, only to realize that i am too low on charcoal, I am tired of fighting with the Kamado to get the perfect smoke. When the Kamado does a good smoke, it does a GOOD smoke, but let that grill get away from you, and it's all over for whatever is in there. So...I have decided on an electric smoker, and the Smoking-it comes highly reviewed. I am most likely going to be ordering my smoker end of this week or early next. Trying to decide between the #2 or the #3. Looking forward to joining the group here, lots of great information!!!!
Hello, my name is Pon, nice to meet you

Hank R

Re: Hello, newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2018, 12:00:01 PM »
Welcome here from western Canada.Lots of people here to help you if you have a problem .
Smokin-It #1
Napoleon Prestige gas BBQ with Cast Iron Charcoal/Smoker Tray
 30 year old Big Chief smoker (unused for the last 25)
 Snow blower lover Toro 1128 HD,
 collector of Oilcans
Princeton BC Canada

Limey

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2018, 12:13:59 PM »
Hi Pon and welcome to the Forum from the Keys. Definitely get the #3 if your budget stretches to it. I have two of them at different houses and they have performed flawlessly.
Roger from the Florida Keys.