Author Topic: Big Fish From NY  (Read 17165 times)

Big Fish

Big Fish From NY
« on: May 31, 2014, 11:19:45 AM »
Just joined Smokin-it because I was thinking about buying the #3. I have been lurking for a couple of weeks before I joined. I am new to electric smoking - there are a lot of choices out there and have been shopping and "feeling" out all the choices. I called Smokin-it last night and waiting for a call back - I have a million questions. I'll mostly be smoking fish (I live on the water - salt), definitely ribs and big pork candy. Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself and do some researching. Oh, nice joint you have here.

You need no teef to eat my beef.

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Big Fish From NY
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2014, 11:40:09 AM »
Welcome, again, Big Fish!  When you compare apples to apples (SI, Cookshack, Smokin Tex), SI is hands-down the best value for the dollar.  The units are very well-made, have a longer warranty than the others, and come with the best customer service in the business!  You'll probably read some of the posts on comparisons; there are quite a few on here.  You'll find many of our members were in exactly the same boat as you (me included), and ended up choosing Smokin-It.  Other than the bomb dropped by robb (that you posted to), you just won't find negatives. 

Another thing to look at is the other manufacturer's forums.  The level of activity is a testament to the product.  Also consider replacement parts costs, especially if considering Cookshack.  Great units, but very costly. 

Steve was probably out with the family last night - I'm sure he'll get back to you soon.  By the way, we have several of you sea-dwellers around here, so lots of good advice on fish! ;)
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

Big Fish