Author Topic: Wood size question  (Read 4348 times)

Truckman225

Wood size question
« on: January 06, 2016, 11:39:31 PM »
Hi, I'm new to using this type of smoker. Very impressed with the build quality of my #1. My question is about shorter smokes say 2-3 hours. If using 1-2 ozs of wood do I leave it in the full block or break it into several pieces to get more surface area exposed to heat and I would think generating more smoke? Thanks for your input, I'm sure I will have more questions as I go.

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: Wood size question
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2016, 11:56:47 PM »
I might cut a two ounce piece in half. But I don't think I would bother cutting a 1 ounce piece down any.
Gregg - Fargo, ND
Smokin-It #3 (purchased in 2014) that replaced a Masterbuilt XL (ugh) and a 10+ Year-Old Big Chief (still used for fish), and few others over the years, along with variety of Weber Gas/Charcoal Grills, Anova Sous Vide, etc. devices.

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2016, 09:29:19 AM »
Doesn't really matter whether the smoke is 2 hours or 20 hours, the smoke is usually done well before 2 hours no matter what the size of the chunk.  Personally, I vary my chunk sizes only because I want some to start smoking sooner and the larger pieces to start later, thus lasting longer.
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

Truckman225

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2016, 07:57:21 PM »
Thanks for your help guys.

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2016, 08:18:28 PM »
Size matters...  Unless you're trying to get wood smoking at a very low temp, keep it big.
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

rpindianajones

« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2017, 08:25:09 PM »
Hi all,