Author Topic: New Member  (Read 3121 times)

elk_smoker

« on: October 10, 2014, 12:30:02 PM »
Hello to all.

I am posting this per the forum rules to introduce myself. I reside in Southeastern Louisiana.

I'm not a Smokin-it owner yet, but I intend to be soon. I have been using stick burners for 30 years and switched earlier this year to my first electric smoker. My experience with that smoker was NOT a good one. On my third smoke in the unit, the smoke generator, which also controlled the heating element, died on me in the middle of the smoke! I wasn't aware of this for over an hour and subsequently had to trash $30.00 worth of meat that was sitting in the 100F range! I have absolutely no tolerance for that kind of product quality and returned it to Cabela's the next day. I have to say that Cabela's was wonderful in taking it back and gave me a full refund. I was also able to return $200.00 worth of proprietary smoking wood to Home Depot that same week.

So, here I am. I have been researching electric smokers for weeks now. My research has led me to Smokin-It. I have read every last review I can find on the internet concerning the Smokin-It brand, including the forums here, Amazon, smokingmeatforums, bbq-brethren, etc, etc, etc....  I have been able to discover only TWO negative reviews of the Smokin-It, and one of those is highly suspect as being "counterfeit". I am seriously impressed by what I have read so far, and believe me, after my experience earlier this year, I have been scrutinizing every forum post, purchase review, the BBB, complaint websites, on-and-on-and-on....

I look forward to a long and happy relationship with Smokin-It and the forum!

One thing I am very, very curious about the the 2nd Generation smoker with the integrated PID. Is there an ETA on when those will be released on the market?

Thanks in advance,
elk_smoker
I never fail. I succeed at finding what does not work.