Author Topic: Need help choosing a model/size?  (Read 5732 times)

snakyjake

Need help choosing a model/size?
« on: January 26, 2016, 10:17:29 PM »
Howdy All,

Need help choosing a model/size...

I know I want something bigger than #1.  Someone might be able to stuff 21 lbs of meat, but I don't want to stuff it full and not have space for smoke circulation.  I used a similar one that size and thought it was getting cramped.  Not much room for sausage or jerky.

I want to smoke 16 lbs of pork butt/shoulder.  The size you can get from Costco and other meat packing places.  Typically these meats are cut into 8 lb halves.  I like to cook both because I can't get the other half into a ziplock bag for freezing.

I want to smoke jerky or cure sausages; not at the same time, nor at the same time as the pork butt.  I'm new at this part, and I reckon I need plenty of hanging room and circulation, but not sure how much room.

I want my meat to get lots of smoke.  No such thing as too much smoke for me.

Cooking for a family of 4.

Recommendations?

Thank you,
Jake
Jake from WA.
WSM, BGE, #3D

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Need help choosing a model/size?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2016, 10:33:13 PM »
Hi Jake!  You've come to the right place for opinions! ;)   We're all pretty proud of our SIs, and will answer any questions you have!

Based on what you said in your post, I would definitely steer you toward the Model 3 or 3D.  Not only are you wanting to smoke big quantities, you also need room.  The 3 just can't be beat, as far as BBQ real estate!  The 20" depth allows you to smoke full packer briskets, and whole racks of ribs, and well as multiple pork butts on the same shelf.  You can always smoke less in a bigger smoker, but you can never smoke more in a smaller one!