Author Topic: Influential wood flavoring  (Read 6204 times)

Shmokan

Influential wood flavoring
« on: April 07, 2015, 01:53:59 PM »
Ok this may be a stupid question but because I'm a newbie I can get away with it. If one used mostly a more dominant wood (say hickory) in his or her smoker, Then switched to a lighter wood (apple) for a more delicate food such as fish or cheese. How much influence (if any) would the "seasoned" smoke have on the food being smoked ?
Brad from Wisconsin

Law of Logical Argument: Anything is possible IF you don't know what you are talking about.

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
Re: Influential wood flavoring
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 02:02:12 PM »
If I understand your question, your first smoke without food was with hickory. On future smokes you would like to use a wood like apple or cherry.

Heck most of us change the kind of wood we smoke with and even mix woods, so I would not believe that your seasoned smoke would make any difference. I am sure others will also chime in.

Welcome Greg

Shmokan

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 02:25:37 PM »
No, If one smoked for example a year with hickory then decided to (once?) use apple, how much if any influence would the hickory have.
Brad from Wisconsin

Law of Logical Argument: Anything is possible IF you don't know what you are talking about.

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2015, 02:40:19 PM »
Unless you cleaned your smoker you would have the hickory residue, but it really should not impact the flavor of future smokes. Other wise every time you mixed woods it would also be a concern.

Just my 2 cents!

Greg

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2015, 02:41:24 PM »
I would think very little influence.  When you use apple, only the apple wood would be producing smoke.   The sides of the box where I guess some hickory smoke residue would be found should not have an effect on the meat.
Steve from Delaware
Smokin-It #2