Author Topic: Brand new to smoking and have lots of questions..  (Read 2921 times)

WessPort

Brand new to smoking and have lots of questions..
« on: November 28, 2014, 06:08:07 PM »
Hi all...I am new to smoking and just received my SI #2 at noon today.  After getting it put together and onto the stand, I am finishing up the first seasoning.
I live in North Central Kansas and have recently retired from the State and got a bug to learn how to smoke, rather than have friends smoke things for me. 
I am also new to this forum and am not sure how to navigate it, but will be here often, so will figure that out quickly. 

My first question(s) is, how do I tell how long something will take to smoke and reach the correct temp without opening the door to check the temp?  Is there a guide that tells me approximate times and what temps for what type of meats?  Is there a trick/secret to how much wood to use?  Will stop there since you are now thinking, she bought a smoker...WHY?!???
 :-\

WessPort

Re: Brand new to smoking and have lots of questions..
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2014, 06:16:35 PM »
OKAY...Just found this and am now reading it.  Has answered my first question already! 

Basics for Beginners  New

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2014, 06:27:08 PM »
Welcome, and congrats, Wess!  Yep, we've tried to give some info for anyone new to our hobby (addiction?).  There's also a guide to smoking temps/times/wood you might check out, too.

Hit us with any questions - we're here to help, and have all been in your shoes!

Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2014, 07:51:14 AM »