Author Topic: 21 day Dry-Aged Choice Ribeye Roast  (Read 3872 times)

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
21 day Dry-Aged Choice Ribeye Roast
« on: December 09, 2016, 03:29:28 AM »
So I've had the UMAI bags for a while. This is my first try at dry-aging. I decided to start a Ribeye Roast after Thanksgiving, when I had room in my fridge for the monster. I bought a 20 pound Boneless Choice Ribeye Roast from Costco on Dec 3rd. I trimmed 3 pounds of steaks off of one end (to be eaten immediately). The remaining 17 pounds went into the UMAI bag, and into the fridge. My plan was to age it around 45-60 days, but then my mom heard about it. You see, our family Christmas is at my mom's house, and she always has prime rib. So she wants to use my Ribeye Roast for Christmas. That will be only about 21 days. I really don't know if 21 days will make that much difference, but I guess I'll find out. I'd prefer to go longer, but there is no choice. I would assume it will at least be somewhat better than if it was not aged at all. I'll have to get another one started for the 45-60 day version.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2016, 03:57:42 AM by SconnieQ »
Kari from Madison WI "77 Square Miles Surrounded by Reality"
Singing the praises of small and simple. SI Model #1 with "Libby the dog" poultry skin eating accessory.
Weber Smokey Mountain (are we still friends?), Weber Kettle Grill (stop complaining WSM, I still have a chance)
Anova WiFi Sous Vide

BedouinBob

• Let's Smoke Meat!
Re: 21 day Dry-Aged Choice Ribeye Roast
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 11:02:39 AM »
Kari, I have a prime rib going as well. I had to cut the bones off to fit in the Umai bag but it will be great for Christmas as will your Ribeye roast. Even at 21 days, you will love the difference.
Bob - Colorado Springs
NRA & USN

SconnieQ

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2016, 12:06:53 PM »