Author Topic: Low Temperature Smoke  (Read 878 times)

Ken

• Model 2wifi
Low Temperature Smoke
« on: February 17, 2022, 01:39:32 AM »
I’m new to the Model 2 wi-fi.  The analog control on my model 1 gives full power until the set temp is reached.  The digital control tapers the power down before the maximum temp is reached.  The net result is no smoke at the lower temps that I like for fish, like 160. I’m talking chunks, not chips. I have to set the temp at about 200 to get the smoke that I want.  Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: February 17, 2022, 07:37:29 AM by Ken »

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: Low Temperature Smoke
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2022, 06:35:01 PM »
Tough to say what is happening.  I start to see some wisps around 120 according to my controller so I know the element is red hot.  Have you got it set to ramp up from a low temp for a certain period of time before going to the cook temp you want for maybe a brisket or butt or something large?  If so, you may have to set another program just for fish.  You may want to give Steve a call and ask his opinion.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

Ken

• Model 2wifi
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2022, 07:57:32 PM »