Author Topic: Model choices  (Read 3141 times)

Harrytim

Model choices
« on: January 22, 2021, 05:33:03 PM »
Hi everyone. I am new to smoking. I am having a hard time choosing between #2, #2D #2 Wifi. Are there any advantages of one over the other?    :-\

Glock_21

Re: Model choices
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2021, 06:36:35 PM »
It's all about control and monitoring features.  The meat won't taste any different from any of the 3.  The D model gives you more precise digital temperature control vs the analog model.  The WiFi model gives you the digital control and lets you tie the smoker into your WiFi network and be able to monitor/control the smoker from your phone anywhere you have internet access. 

I have the Model 3 analog.  It has served me well over the years. The Model 3 analog can be had for less money than a Model 2 WiFi.  It's great to have options on the different levels of "bells and whistles".   These are great smokers.  You really can't go wrong with your choice.

Travis from North Central Oklahoma
SI #3 with Bella Smoke Generator, Traeger Texas Grill, Kamado Joe Classic 3 and Joe Jr, Anova WiFi 900 watt

old sarge

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2021, 07:39:56 PM »
First, welcome to the forum.
Will a #2 meet all your size requirements or was this model chosen because of budget?  If you think you might ned a larger unit, you can get the analog 3 for a tad less than the 2 wifi. You could, at a later date get the stand alone Auber controller if you decide you want more control. The digital  and wifi controllers are made by Auber.