Author Topic: Hello All!!  (Read 5003 times)

bigboy74

Hello All!!
« on: July 03, 2013, 01:51:50 PM »
I am new to smoking meats and have been looking at smokers for several months now. I have read tons of reviews on different kinds of smokers. Finally made a decision to buy a Smokin-it #2. Ordered the smoker yesterday and am waiting on its arrival!!! Cant wait to have some home-brews smoke some butts, baby backs, and my favorite country style ribs! Now I have to make the hard decision of which to smoke first!
Cheers
Bigboy

Thin Blue

Re: Hello All!!
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2013, 02:58:06 PM »
OH!  You have been bitten by the smoke bug.
Congrats you will have fun and eat well also.
 :)
Have: Tejas stick burner roll top and a Smokin-it #3 w/ Auber

Had: Brinkmann vertical charcoal, wore out; Old Smoky, not to my liking sold; Brinkmann Pro offset, gave to friend;  Sams Club propane smoker, junk, returned to SAMs; 2 Brinkmann vertical electric, wore out.

Bigumdaddyo

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2013, 03:19:21 PM »
Welcome Bigboy!! I am new here as well and so is my smoker. I started with baby backs last weekend and they were fantastic! Getting ready for the 4th with a 12 pound brisket. happy smoking.

Bigumdaddyo
Larry from WA
Smokin-it #3
Char-griller stick burner

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2013, 04:27:26 PM »
Welcome, Big!   Just as you said, I spent quite a bit of time researching different options for smokers and settled on the #2 back in January.  Haven't looked back and been smok'in every weekend.  You will not be disappointed...these units are very sturdy and hold temps great.   I suspect you will have your new smoker early next week, if not sooner (usually about 3-4 days).   Be sure to season it before your first smoke (instructions I believe come with the unit).