Author Topic: Rib Confession and Smoker Cleaning Question  (Read 3941 times)

CUTiger80

Rib Confession and Smoker Cleaning Question
« on: July 06, 2016, 01:58:23 PM »
I have been smoking BB ribs using the 2-2-1 method for a couple of years now and they always turn out great.  Last weekend I decided to try the no-peek method after seeing many of you swear by it.  I smoked them this way when I first got my smoker and I didn't think that they turned out as tender (but I was smoking spares back then).  I smoked 2 racks between 5.5-6 hours and they were perfect.  I liked the bark much better using the no-peek method and I saved all the hassle of opening & closing the smoker door and wrapping and unwrapping the meat.  I am converted.  That is the confession.  (Wondering if spares vs. BB had anything to do with it?)
My question has to do with cleaning the inside of the smoker.  After each smoke I always remove the racks and clean them well with soap and water.  I remove all of the foil and give everything a casual wipe down.  I noticed this weekend that I am getting a buildup of black smoke flakes mainly on the top of the smoker.  My concerns is that this stuff will fall down on the meat and create some questionable flavors.
I have had my #2 for a couple of years now and I use it about every other weekend.  Should I take a couple of hours and scrub the thing down really good (back to the stainless) or am I worried about nothing?  If I should be scrubbing it down periodically, what should I use and do I need to re-season it when I'm finished?  I have always been under the impression that smoke buildup was good, but now that it has started to flake off when I wipe it, I'm beginning to question my logic.
Ravel
BSEE 1980 Clemson University
“Don't let your happiness depend on something that you may lose.” C.S. Lewis

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
Re: Rib Confession and Smoker Cleaning Question
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 03:43:06 PM »