Author Topic: Need a little help  (Read 4335 times)

Shackattack99

Need a little help
« on: June 14, 2015, 06:06:02 PM »
I just bought the #3. I started with a few rack of ribs at 220 degrees and it seemed like it took 12 hours to get them cooked. Now I've had a 10 lb boston butt in for 20 hours and just got to 161 degrees.im not an expert, just learning but it seems like something is off... Any advice is appreciated.

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
Re: Need a little help
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2015, 06:10:18 PM »
I have a #2, but the times you are showing seem really off.

Ribs normally take 4.5-6 hours max at 250 degrees. For a 10 lb. butt the norm would be closer to 12 hours, but not all meat cooks the same.

I am sure others that have a #3 will jump in shortly, but what you are seeing is not the norm.

Greg

jcboxlot

• John, York PA.
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2015, 06:14:01 PM »
Hard to tell from the comment.  Did the ribs actually take 12 hours?  Or did it seem like 12 hours?

My guess is you are trying to temp gauge the ribs with a probe?  Just a hunch.  Many / most here I doubt ever probe ribs to temp. 

I'll let other speak to the butt, but ribs should be about 5 to 6 hours at 220 degrees with no look/opening the box.  I would think after 12 hours there would only be rib bones in the smoker.

Smokin It #2.  Weber Genesis. Old Smokey charcoal.  Work from home antique tool dealer and living the dream.  Dad, Husband, Cook.  John~York PA

Shackattack99

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2015, 06:21:03 PM »
Ribs literally took 12 hours. I did not probe them. Boston butt I've checked with my thermapen numerous times. Put it on at 9 pm last night. 7 am I had a temp of 145 degrees. Noon time had temp of 161. Just seemed like I wasn't getting the heat.
My research on ribs shows 5 hours or so. That's why I'm a bit concerened.

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2015, 06:26:28 PM »