Author Topic: My first whole chicken - beer can  (Read 2246 times)

Akalli

My first whole chicken - beer can
« on: June 17, 2018, 09:02:29 PM »
I'm new to smoking and we got a #1. It's just the 2 of us. Enjoying learning how to get good results. I've done a few pork shoulders and I'm getting really close to getting it just right. Tonight I smoked a whole chicken and it was WONDERFUL! It was small, not even 4 pounds and it took about 2.5 hours on 250 to 161 IT, then pulled it out and tented for over an hour. I used a beer can stand with a 1/2 can of beer that I put some chopped up apple, onions, garlic, and apple cider vinegar. Not sure it affected the flavor but the chicken was as moist as I've ever eaten. The skin was horrible, even bitter, but we don't eat the skin anyway. What it did do was add tons of flavor and moisture to the meat. At least that's what I think. I used alder wood, and it was so darn good! I can't wait to make my next chicken, and it will be a bigger one. I didn't brine it, but I did put a rub on it that I made. What a great first experience with chicken, as we love chicken! This might be a weekly ritual at our house. Thanks for opening up my world.

Andrea
« Last Edit: June 17, 2018, 09:26:41 PM by Akalli »

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: My first whole chicken - beer can
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2018, 09:27:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum Andrea from SE Arizona. You are in the right place for learning and smoking and sharing. When you get time, stop by the intro section and introduce yourself so others can say howdy.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

TX Gent

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2018, 08:43:32 AM »