Author Topic: Where's the bark???  (Read 4741 times)

Heltonckb

Where's the bark???
« on: December 17, 2014, 08:42:27 AM »
I've had my smokin it smoker for about a year.  I've been smoking meat for 15 years and I'm stumped.  Why can't I seem to get any real bark to develop on a pork but?  I haven't changed my method: layer of mustard, dry rub smoke it at 225.  I'm almost ready to give up and go back to my stick burner.  Any suggestions are appreciated as I'm expected to smoke some butts for the new year.  Help......

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
Re: Where's the bark???
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2014, 09:37:31 AM »
Just like my smoke ring is never going to happen in these smokers, you are likely never to see true bark.  The units are so sealed that they produce a lot of box moisture, good for tender, juicy meat but death to bark.
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2014, 10:16:40 AM »
Just like my smoke ring is never going to happen in these smokers, you are likely never to see true bark.  The units are so sealed that they produce a lot of box moisture, good for tender, juicy meat but death to bark.

Totally not true that you won't get great bark in these smokers.

I get absolutely great thick bark candy (everyone's favorite) on ALL of my Boston Butt as well as rib smokes. You will however, not get crispy chicken skin unless you are bypassed with an Auber and can take your smoker up to 325-350 degrees.

I am not sure what is going wrong with yours, but here are some questions:

1. Are you smoking with the butt foiled at ANY point during the process? If so, don't use foil during any of this process other than for your double-wrap and rest after you pull it out of the smoker!

2. What rack are you smoking on? You should be placing the butt in the smoker on the highest rack you can where you can still get your thermometer probes in.