Author Topic: Adding cheese...  (Read 3677 times)

Tar54

Adding cheese...
« on: July 12, 2017, 06:24:48 PM »
You guys that are adding cheese to your summer sausage...how do you do it? You mix and stuff with a hand stuffer into the casing? or can it be run through a grinder into the casing? I like to do a coarse grind and add the seasoning then a fine grind into the casing via the stuffing tube on my grinder...I am a rookie....be easy on me.....lol
Rick from Central Indiana
Smokin-It 2D...residing at my sons new home along with his soon to be Bride!
No.1 Analog with Fireboard controller

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: Adding cheese...
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2017, 10:42:34 AM »
I put the cheese in my mixer (1lb of cheese per 10lbbs of meat) after my seasoning is mixed well because you don't want to be mixing very much after you put the cheese in.

You will not want to do a fine grind if you have cheese in your mix because it will turn it into mush and you won't even see the cheese in your final product.

I would strongly recommend getting a stuffer as it makes stuffing WAAAAAY easier. If you have to use a grinder, you are going to have to mix the cheese in after your fine grinding and then use a kidney plate for when you stuff the sausage.

I hope you are mixing your seasoning in a mixer or tub by hand instead of just adding it during the fine grind?

Let me know if you have any other questions. I have been pretty busy this summer, so haven't been on here very much. But, I'm trying to respond to the questions in the Sausage section at least. :)
Gregg - Fargo, ND
Smokin-It #3 (purchased in 2014) that replaced a Masterbuilt XL (ugh) and a 10+ Year-Old Big Chief (still used for fish), and few others over the years, along with variety of Weber Gas/Charcoal Grills, Anova Sous Vide, etc. devices.

Tar54

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2017, 04:52:42 PM »