Author Topic: Getting Started  (Read 5874 times)

chizotz

Getting Started
« on: July 21, 2013, 07:38:44 PM »
OK, I'll try to make this short. But be warned, I'm not usually good at that :)

I'm just getting into smoking meat, although I've wanted to for a couple of years.

I bought the smoking rack for our CharBroil Patio Bistro electric grill (wife's choice, long story). It was a disaster. The thing can't seem to keep a constant temp, whether by design or ours is already broken I don't know. I wanted to dip my toes in before jumping into the deep end and spending money on a real honest-to-goodness smoker.

So... I know there are about a billion choices, I'm trying to narrow it down a bit: what smoker should I buy?

Here's some info I think might be relevant. We're two adults with a 6-year old. We don't need to cook a lot of food at a time. We don't usually have parties or host family events, as we live a couple of hundred miles from the bulk of our families and both my wife and I are rather reclusive (our son is the extrovert, friend-maker, and party guy, lol). I'm looking to get my feet wet, at this point, and the cheaper the better -- as long as it's also quality. I'd rather spend a bit more on something I might want to use for a few years than have price be the deciding factor, decide I really love it and want to do it very regularly (as I believe I will, but just don't know for sure yet), and just be spending more on another, better, unit 6 months from now. I believe my preference is charcoal, but I'm open to advice on that point. I want something that is very easy and reliable to use and learn with.

i don't know, maybe that's a tall order. Small(ish), easy and reliable, good to learn on but also good enough for at least a few years use, and not a budget-buster.

Any advice is appreciated. Including educating me on what I _should_ be thinking about instead of what I actually am :)

Thanks in advance.

Ron

UWFSAE