Author Topic: Another white smoke and creosote post Need help  (Read 619 times)

jboyIV

Another white smoke and creosote post Need help
« on: April 18, 2023, 04:06:43 PM »
Hello,

I'm new to this style of smoker. I got the smokin-it #1 and read forum posts before placing my order. My very first cook after seasoning tasted incredibly bitter. So I went to the forums and looked to see who else has this problem. I'm thankful some people never do, but I'm honestly fed up with this smoker. In all my tests or cooks the wood has been under 3oz and as low as 1oz for short tests. I clean up after every smoke.

I have tried:
Heating the smoker up in stages.
Using foil boats on my wood along with the chip tray.
Placing foil over the holes in the heating element.
"pre-heating" even though the manual suggests I do not.
Using the moisture tray near the heating element.
Varying moistures in my wood, meaning shorter versus longer seasoning periods. I have not soaked anything.

I have also let the smoker run with no wood incase there was something else igniting that I was not aware of. There were no issues here.
Most recently, I have used tripled a wrapped foil boat for a 1.5oz chunk, preheated in stages while checking the temp with another device. After reaching the 225 range, it smelled good, smoke looked good, but 1 hour later, there is bitter pluming smoke.

This is every single cook, there is a period between 30 mins- a couple hours of nasty smoke. It makes for incredibly bitter aromas and taste. I have used apple wood, cherry, and the sample hickory. The 1st applewood I got was very dry big box store product. I was hoping that was my only problem. Unfortunately, everything I have tried seems to delay the awful smoke rather than prevent it.

I'm at a loss, wondering if I missed anything.

Thanks for any help,
I don't want to give up on this one, but I'm almost there.

John

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: Another white smoke and creosote post Need help