Author Topic: Which model....Decisions decisions  (Read 10577 times)

ccd

Which model....Decisions decisions
« on: March 23, 2013, 06:05:48 PM »
After many hours of research, I have decided to purchase a "Smokin It" smoker. Now the issue is which one. I am leaning towards the Model #1 but I am a little concerned about the size. I am new to smoking but I can see where smoking an entire Turkey or multiple racks of ribs might get a little tight in the small one. My general use is for our family of four but in the summer there may be instances where I need to feed more. As this is my first smoker, I wanted to keep the investment cost under control.

Anyone have regrets in not choosing the larger size? Whats the largest Turkey or other item that someone has successfully smoked in the #1 model?

schway

Re: Which model....Decisions decisions
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 06:12:51 PM »
If you can afford it get the #3. I got the number 2 and wish I would have gotten the #3 only for one reason. I would like to be able to put full racks in without having cut them. I bought a full uncut brisket and had to put it up on the sides a little. It did cook down and was ok and fit with no problem. I always go on the advice of my father and if you question if its big enough go bigger if you can and you wont regret it. Its always the time when you dont and wish you did.

Rob Babcock

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2013, 01:33:21 AM »
Well, you're probably just gonna hear from a bunch of "enablers" on this forum! ;D  I debated for a while which one to get and ultimately bit the bullet and bought the #3.  I'm sure the #1 is a great unit, but Smokin-It smokers are so well built that I expect to get many years out of mine.  Thus the cost, divided over many years, is not really all that much more for the largest model.  You can always smoke less in a big smoker but you can't do more in a smaller one.  Maybe you don't need the largest but for me it was worth the extra cash.

mac24312