Author Topic: Just ordered my Model #2. Now waiting like a kid at Christmas.  (Read 12415 times)

MNGuy1959

• Every Day is a great day for smokin'
Hi Everyone.  I just ordered my Model #2 and am very excited to get it delivered.  I ordered the cart as well, so hopefully I will be happy with both.  I am new to smoking, so I have a lot to learn.  I am going to start with St. Louis ribs.  I ordered the rib hooks.  Just wondering how many racks I will be able to do at one time.  Will have some company over July 4th and want to treat them to ribs.

Also bought the Maverick Et732 remote thermometer.  I have been reading that ribs should be in for 3 to 4 hours.  What should the internal temp be before they are ready?

Thanks for any responses.
Gene from Minnesota
Proud owner of Model #2, Auber, and Jerky dryer

The worst smoking results are still better than being at the office!!

UWFSAE

• Smoker, Griller, & International Man of Mystery
Re: Just ordered my Model #2. Now waiting like a kid at Christmas.
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2013, 11:46:55 AM »
Congrats on the smoker!  With regard to ribs, I typically do a 5.5 hour unwrapped smoke but your mileage may vary (the 3-2-1 method is damn near bulletproof).

Here's a handy chart for you to use to get smoking time estimates and temps:

http://www.deejayssmokepit.net/Downloads_files/Time-Temperature.pdf

Good luck!
Joe from Houston, TX
Proud owner of a Smokin-It #3!

MNGuy1959

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2013, 12:02:12 PM »
Thanks Joe.  Very much appreciate the chart.  I will use this often.  I will have to look at the 3-2-1 method, as I have seen many people using it on here.  Looks like a great way to smoke ribs.  I also ordered a rub from www.texasbbqrub.com.  It looks like a nice rub and hopefully will work for us northerners. 
Gene from Minnesota

afratki

• Owner: Smokin-It #1
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2013, 12:57:33 PM »
Welcome MNGuy and congrats on the purchase