Author Topic: 1st Time Brisket Recipe  (Read 3869 times)

FreelandMISmoker

1st Time Brisket Recipe
« on: June 05, 2018, 12:48:09 PM »
I just got my 3.5 last week.  I wanted to start with something challenging that I had never done before.  Having 100's if not 1000's of hours on my masterbuilt (it died hence my 3.5) - smoking is not new but my 3.5 and brisket were.

This forum is half the reason I bought a smokin it!

SO, I spent hours upon hours on here reading and taking notes to try and make the perfect brisket on my first try.  I would say I got 95% of the way there(subject to your own taste :) ).  And all my guests thought it was the best they had ever eaten.  I have the good fortune of travelling the country for work so I eat bbq everywhere I go.  I am by no means an expert cook, but I do know what I like and don't like.  Here is my step by step of 6 pages of notes and an entire weekend on this cook:

1) I started with a full brisket, 11.5lbs.  Our local meat markets are so / so.  I would assume this was a "choice" cut at best.  Not premium.

We process about 10 deer a year in my family so I do ok with cutting meat.  This brisket needed some trimming to get it in shape to cook.  I would guess I took about 1.3-1.5 lbs of fat off. 
-My target was a fat cap with 3/8-1/2" fat cap.

2) Next I brined it for 12 hours in a stainless steel container (yes stainless is ok for brining.  I work for a chemical company and had my lab analyze my brine and they confirmed 100% no chance you could react the metal, seriously)

-1 gallon water
-1 1/8 cup kosher salt
-1 cup brown sugar
-1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
- 1 tbs garlic powder
- 1 tbs onion powder
- 1 tbs cayenne pepper
- 2 tsp black pepper

-12 hours in the fridge covered
-Rinsed and patted dry
-Scored the fat cap in 1" squares

3) Next I wanted the smoke ring- brisket is the only place I ever look for it

- Rubbed with instacure, wrapped it in plastic wrap, and refrigerated for 1 hour