Author Topic: Bad flavor - No flavor Continued  (Read 1817 times)

bewdigger

Bad flavor - No flavor Continued
« on: August 26, 2017, 08:07:16 AM »
I posted earlier about bad tasting smokes and was told to foil my wood. I did that. The bad smell is still there, but the  and the food had little to no smoke flavor.  I was cooking one rack of St. Louis ribs and a rib eye steak. They also came out black as coal on the outside. (This is new).

I am getting frustrated here. I have been smoking meat for over 30 years in a cheap kettle with good results, but now with a much more expensive device I am getting sub par results! Any help appreciated!

True confession here: I used 1 5/8 ounces of big box hickory. Before I get yelled at - I just ordered a box of wood from smokinlicious.   

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
Re: Bad flavor - No flavor Continued
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2017, 05:31:10 PM »
I remember reading that post, and everyone seemed to agree it was probably the wood. When you get your smokinlicious wood, just use the chunks as is. Do not pre-soak. Do not use a foil boat. Do not use a chip screen. You might have to split the chunks in half if they are a bit too big, to get the lid down in the smoke box. I position my chunks down the middle of the smoke box, lined up end to end. Considering you've had lots of bad flavors going on previously, I would give the inside of your smoker a wipe down with paper towels to get any loose stuff off (no need to clean). If there is a lot of loose stuff, you can scrape it with a credit card or plastic putty knife. Then, when you receive your smokinlicious wood, put about 5-6 ounces in there, and run a seasoning cycle (4 hours at 250, no racks or rack guides). Hopefully that should burn out any foul odors from the previous smokes.