Author Topic: Smoknig Sausage at 130-140  (Read 7530 times)

Curl Dog

Smoknig Sausage at 130-140
« on: January 24, 2017, 12:22:27 PM »
Hi Guys!

I am new to smoking and am considering purchasing a Model 3D. I need some help on sausage IT relative to the smoker temperature and generating smoke.

I am making venison sausage in 32mm (1 1/4") casings.  Based on what I have read in books and on this site, there are three basic steps: (1) dry the casing at 115-120 for an hour, (2) smoke the sausage at 130-140 IT for two hours and (3) raise the IT to 150-155 to finish it.  Then put it in an ice bath to stop the cooking.

My question concerns how to get a temperature high enough to generate smoke and keep the IT at 130-140 for two hours.  It is my understanding that a smoker temperature of at least 170 is required to generate smoke.  I know that multiple temperature sequences can be set with the PID controller.  I read one post in this section where a user said he "always sets the smoker temperature on 200 when hot smoking".  If a temperature in the 170-200 range is set for the smoker, will the IT of the sausage stay in the 130-140 range for at least two hours?  I anticipate smoking 12-25 pounds of sausage at at time ... starting with cold meat and a cold smoker.

I am just trying to get comfortable that the Model 3D, with the James Jerky Dryer, can do the job.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Mike
Decatur, AL

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: Smoknig Sausage at 130-140
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2017, 01:47:05 PM »
For lower temp smokes, you are going to want to use chips or slice some slivers from your wood chunks to get smoke at lower temps.

I used to try to do those stepped up sausage processes, but they took forever when smoking that much meat. I usually smoke 25-28 pounds at a time and with that much cold meat in the smoker, it takes a while to get the meat up to the 130-140 range even without using the stepped up process.