Author Topic: Anyone smoke salt or spices?  (Read 2052 times)

Master-Hack

• City Worker-Part of the problem, not the solution
Anyone smoke salt or spices?
« on: June 09, 2016, 02:55:14 PM »
I have an A-MAZ-N 5 X 8 pellet smoker arriving today and dying to play with the new toy.  Unfortunately, it's been very hot in Boise this week (101 yesterday) so cheese is out till it cools down a bit.  I have received & enjoyed gifts of smoked salt & thought I would give it a try.  I plan on using fruit wood pellets from my pellet grill and cold smoking in the SI2 on a screen.  Figuring about 4 hours.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

On a side note, I'm still new to the SI2 but finding it to be an outstanding product.  Based on photos of RG's cubano sandwiches, I smoked a pork loin roast after a 24 hour mojo brine and made some cubanos for the family.  Turned out outrageously good!  RG, you are truly a culinary inspiration!!!
Lee from Boise
Weber Genesis - Sold in garage sale
Weber Smokey Mountain - loaned out & never returned
2 Weber Simpsons 10th Anniversary - still boxed
Louisiana Grills Little Louie - go to grill
Weber 22.5 Charcoal - wife's go to grill
Masterbuilt 30 - converted to dehydrator
SI 2 - getting started

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: Anyone smoke salt or spices?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 04:25:34 PM »

I haven't smoked salt before, but I have cold smoked several batches of cheese and bacon with my A-MAZE-N smokers. I have both the AMNPS and 6" and 18" AMNTS smokers. I have found that the tube smokers tend to stay lit a bit easier, but burn hotter and faster.