Author Topic: Water Pan position  (Read 6619 times)

anesdoc

Water Pan position
« on: October 05, 2015, 11:01:04 PM »
I just finished my first run with the #3 and had mixed results with baby back ribs and whole chicken, butterfly prep.  I prepped by autotuning the Auber PID using bricks as a heat sink and did a couple of runs empty to work out the smoke belching that I had read about.  I settled on wrapping my apple wood with foil and ramping up to 140 for 30 min then 250 for the rest of the cook.  I am a novice smoker, so I am doing everything the Myron Myxon way.  He recommends a water pan, so I tried an aluminum pan filled halfway with apple juice for flavor and moisture.  I placed this on the lowest shelf and place the chicken on a shelf directly over this.  Then I had the ribs on another aluminum pan on the top shelf.

The smoker seemed to have a hard time getting to 250 even though I autotuned with what I thought would have been a big enough heat sink.  I was concerned that the water pan was too much of a heat sink or it was causing the lower section of the smoker to be hotter than the top and allowing the #3's probe and rheostat to kick in and interfere with the Auber set temp and its wall mounted probe near the top of the smoker.  So I quickly removed the back panel and bypassed the #3's temp control, which was something that I had planned to do in the future.  That seemed to take care of the temp problem.

The chicken needed extra time but cooked well because I had temp probes in the breast and thigh (extra Maverick around).  The pork ribs were by time only and turned out a little underdone (250, 2 hours uncovered, 1 hr covered with small amount of apple juice).  Still good, had a good bark, but not fall off the bones tender (like I had before slaving over a modified offset charcoal smoker).