Author Topic: #1 doesn't have combustion of the wood like the bigger models?  (Read 6140 times)

Suzie-Q

#1 doesn't have combustion of the wood like the bigger models?
« on: October 01, 2015, 06:35:38 PM »
As I look at the other posts in our forum I notice combustion or "the belch" mentioned.  I'm only a newbie, but I don't think I've had this happen (yet).  Am I just lucky (with a no peek method)?  I only use about 2-3 ounces of wood in the little #1.  Does it's lower watt element save it from overheating the wood?  I seem to get best results from chips rather than chunks of wood.  Let's hear from the experts!

elkins20

• Smokin it best electric smoker bar none!
Re: #1 doesn't have combustion of the wood like the bigger models?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 07:22:11 PM »
Hey Suzy, I too have the #1, I have used as much as 6 oz of wood chunks in it for long smokes. I have not experienced any belch but do have an auber and do first a start of 140 degrees temp. at 45 min. then up the temp. to my cooking temp. say 225 or 235 depending on what I am smoking. I think the belch was in the larger smokers but really not sure. As in my #3 do the same thing with the ramp up temp. Since you are using mostly chips I would say you might be lucky that they have not caught on fire. Do you soak the chips prior to placing in the #1? The reason I went with an auber on my #1 was got discussed with it and the huge temp. swings. When I set the temp. at 235 and see high temps. of say 250 + I thought that was a bit much.
Bill SI#1, SI#3, 2 Auber Pids, Cold Smoke Plate for the #3, Large Weber kettle, Smoky Joe Weber, and 2006 Harley softail deuce for stress relief,  from Kansas City, Missouri

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2015, 08:18:54 PM »