Author Topic: Using pan to smoke boston butt  (Read 2621 times)

Cookie

Using pan to smoke boston butt
« on: September 03, 2015, 06:42:38 AM »
I am still learning how to smoke and I am more than pleased with my progress.  I am going to try a couple of 4lb Boston Butts today.  I am interested in keeping drippings.  What are thoughts about putting the butts in an aluminum tray or should I just use drip pans?

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: Using pan to smoke boston butt
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2015, 10:15:35 AM »
Just an FYI that we have found that small butts like your 4lbers tend to take an abnormally long time. In the future I would strongly recommend using 7+ lb. butts. I would get them in the smoker asap if you want them done by dinner time.

Regarding using trays/drip pans, they can cause issues with your temperature controller's ability to accurately hold temps. So, my recommendation would be to use the smallest possible drip pans should you decide to use them.

Good luck with your smoke.

By the way if you didn't brine your butts, I would encourage you to check out Divotmaker's pork butt brining post that is set up as a sticky at the top of the pork section.
Gregg - Fargo, ND
Smokin-It #3 (purchased in 2014) that replaced a Masterbuilt XL (ugh) and a 10+ Year-Old Big Chief (still used for fish), and few others over the years, along with variety of Weber Gas/Charcoal Grills, Anova Sous Vide, etc. devices.

elkins20

• Smokin it best electric smoker bar none!
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2015, 01:15:20 PM »
Hey Cookie, this is how I did a BB a few smokes ago. I was also able to capture some of the Au Jus. And +1 on Greg's post about adding a drip pan under the BB and also need something over 7#. http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=3747.0
Bill SI#1, SI#3, 2 Auber Pids, Cold Smoke Plate for the #3, Large Weber kettle, Smoky Joe Weber, and 2006 Harley softail deuce for stress relief,  from Kansas City, Missouri

AlinMA

• Al