Author Topic: Contemplating the purchase of a #2  (Read 2101 times)

bobur7

Contemplating the purchase of a #2
« on: August 17, 2015, 10:59:26 AM »
Good morning! I have been smoking for more than 20 years. Started with charcoal in a New Braunfels 2 barrel in early 90's(before Charbroil bought them and cheapened them). It's still going strong in the possession of my oldest son in Upstate NY.  When I retired and we began RV'ing full time I bought a Masterbuilt Electric which could travel with us. I just gave that to my youngest son who lives near Nashville. I was attracted to the cart accessory so the #2 box would be at a better working height. The Masterbuilt gave me great results, but getting on my hands and knees to clean it was getting bothersome. The #2 looks to be about the same capacity as the Masterbuilt which I have loaded with a butt, a brisket and 2 beer can chickens at once.

Currently in RV in Virginia, and will be returning to AZ for the winter (where we now have a home) and could travel via Montgomery, MI to pick up.
bobur7

elkins20

• Smokin it best electric smoker bar none!
Re: Contemplating the purchase of a #2
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2015, 11:11:42 AM »
Hi Bob, you will be happy with the #2, it puts out great BBQ and the smoke flavor is out of this world. I have a #1 & #3 originally my first order was the #1 and after sleeping on it. The next morning I called Steve to change my order to a #2, but it had already been shipped. For the #3 I purchased it from a gentleman that was going into competition smoking. I was able to get a very good deal on it. There is a lot more room in the #3 and it might fit your needs also. I wish you good luck in your choice and happy smoking.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2015, 12:46:45 PM by elkins20 »
Bill SI#1, SI#3, 2 Auber Pids, Cold Smoke Plate for the #3, Large Weber kettle, Smoky Joe Weber, and 2006 Harley softail deuce for stress relief,  from Kansas City, Missouri

swthorpe

• Global Moderator