Author Topic: One year anniversary: Still in love.  (Read 4582 times)

Suzie-Q

One year anniversary: Still in love.
« on: June 19, 2015, 03:28:21 PM »
   I had to report in after a year with my Smokin-It #1.  It has been a great year!  I'm a slow learner but the mini smoker is so easy I've tried lots of experiments (never had to throw anything away but maybe use more BBQ sauce). ;)  My family has been very forgiving; especially when hungry!  Pork, beef, chicken, turkey, salmon, shrimp and cheese: it's all good.  I've even smoked salt.  I have an easy (cheat) for great smoked almonds too.  There really is a difference with types of wood; well, I'm a rank beginner so I didn't know.  Make mistakes?  Yup, like forget to put that hole in the bottom of the aluminum foil in the bottom. :(  Oh yeah, heavy duty aluminum foil is your friend!  Chip insert and cold smoke shelve?  Worth it! :)  Never going to Crock-Pot a corned beef again; going to smoke it for pastrami.  I've kept a note book so I can learn from mistakes and repeat success.  Thanks to this forum I can count on expert advice.  Thank you!  Now if I could only find some quality beef ribs to experiment with...
« Last Edit: June 19, 2015, 10:03:02 PM by Suzie-Q »

Limey

Re: One year anniversary: Still in love.
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2015, 07:40:07 PM »
Hi Suzie-Q that's a great recommendation for the SI, but all those smokes and only 12 posts?? Please share more of your smoking experiences with us- good and maybe not so good.
Roger from the Florida Keys.
Two SI#3s, both with switched bypass and Aubers(different locations), Viking, Jenn Aire & five TEC infra red grills. Recently acquired UDS.

elkins20

• Smokin it best electric smoker bar none!
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2015, 08:26:28 PM »