Author Topic: Digital controller to fit number 1 and 2  (Read 3361 times)

Bigjo

Digital controller to fit number 1 and 2
« on: March 12, 2015, 08:12:17 PM »
 ??? Just had a thought hit me.   The masterbuilt 30 smoker has a 800 watt element.  Seems to me the controller would operate the 1 and 2.   I'm not a electrician but it might work at least until Steve comes out with his.
Bradley BBQ pit, MES smoker, Smoking-it 3

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
Re: Digital controller to fit number 1 and 2
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2015, 10:10:51 PM »
Does it have tuning capability? 
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

Bigjo

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2015, 10:26:10 PM »
If it does I'm not aware of it.   I have a masterbuilt  and it was plug n play.  I'm retiring it as soon as I can get my hands on a number 3.   I doubt it be absolutely accurate but with a little Kentucky windage I think you could better control temp swings.   My masterbuilt did not have much problems with that.  Seems like it should help.  Just a thought.  Looking for a more informed opinion. 

old sarge

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2015, 11:24:00 PM »
I would think very carefully about such a scheme.  Seems the Masterbuilt smoker mentioned has problems. Especially the Generation 2. A search for such problems will quickly reveal many posts.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

Barrel99

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2015, 11:38:57 PM »
I don't understand, what are you trying to accomplish? BTW, I had the MES 40 gen 2 and returned it.
Arnie near Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Smokin-It #3, Landmann GSM Propane smoker, WEBER kettle, CharGrill Gas BBQ, Brinkman Gas/charcoal combo grill

1-is fun, 2-gets you through, 3-will set you free, 4-and you don't need no more...WAHOOOOOO!!!

Bigjo