Author Topic: OKC Newbie  (Read 1872 times)

tall paul

OKC Newbie
« on: January 18, 2015, 12:49:19 PM »
I’m a newbie. Got a model 2 a few weeks ago.  So far, have done a couple of chickens and pork butts. Everybody has been impressed with the results!
Really appreciate this forum and all the great info. I am going to add the Auber PID controller, bypass the analog controller and install the permanent Auber temperature probe.  Initially what I read about the placement of temperature probe was to place it about 3” from the top. I didn’t like that, was concerned about it getting in the way of large cuts of meat. After further research, I think I’m going to place it somewhere between 1” and 1 ¾” from the top.
I was also initially somewhat confused or not clear about the wiring of the bypass switch. I couldn’t wrapped my head around using a DPDT switch, kept thinking it would make more sense to use a SPDT. Rickne’s wiring diagram for his toggle switch bypass illustrated it perfectly.  I’m using the DPDT switch with a switch cover. I haven’t seen any discussion of the need to use high temp connectors. 
I’m also going to shorten the cord length on the smoker. Rather than buying another cord I was going to cut the existing cord and wire a three prong plug on it.
Has anyone tried using 135 degree drill bit for drilling the stainless steel?  Did it seem to work any better? I was also going see if there wasn’t a way to get the smoker cabinet in position to where I could use my floor drill press.
Model #2
Paul from OKC

Longhornamus

Re: OKC Newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 07:32:10 PM »
I cannot help with the drilling but congrats on your smoker and welcome. The folks on here are very helpful so I am sure someone will be along to help!
Keith from Texas
Longhorns fanatic
Smokin-It #2

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 10:12:50 PM »