Author Topic: Smoke Flavor for Pork Shoulder  (Read 2918 times)

smokedaddy

Smoke Flavor for Pork Shoulder
« on: March 17, 2015, 12:26:27 PM »
Good Morning Fellow Smokers. I am a rookie from Wisconsin. Recently having purchased a Smokin it 2. I have a question about the smoke flavor of my pork shoulder. I smoked a 6 lb. Pork shoulder this past weekend. I used 4 oz. Hickory and 2 oz cherry. I use a foil boat for the wood. I did a dry brine and then used a homemade rub. I smoked it for 12 hours until it was 195 degrees. It had a great bark and was super moist. The bark and the outer part had great smoke flavor (70 percent of the meat) When I was shredding the middle it tasted good but it was lacking any smoke flavor. Any suggestions? Do I need to use more wood?

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
Re: Smoke Flavor for Pork Shoulder
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 12:46:36 PM »
Did slice it or how did you differentiate "middle" of a pulled pork?  Regarding flavor penetration, many of us comment how some smoked food tastes better the next day because the smoke intensifies and has a chance to fully equalize throughout the meat.  If you dove right in right after the rest period, the smoke hasn't fully spread in the meat.  But I've never known anyone that could tell one shredded piece from another. 
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

smokedaddy

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2015, 01:10:16 PM »
As I was shredding it I tried some from the very middle of the roast. I only let it rest for 20 minutes. We were really hungry. How long would you recommend?

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2015, 01:34:56 PM »
recommended rest period is 1 to 2 hours, purely for meat juice re-absorption. 
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

Walt

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2015, 01:51:39 PM »