Author Topic: My virgin smoking trial...  (Read 5691 times)

WessPort

My virgin smoking trial...
« on: November 30, 2014, 08:00:04 PM »
Okay....my first time smoking EVER!!!!  I did not brine the turkey..I did not let it rest in the frig with seasoning....

SERIOUSLY??!!!  Its my first time and am SOOOO excited to just try it!!!!   

Dried 6.87# bone-in Turkey Breast.
Rubbed with EVOO, then a mix of dried herbs (Rosemary, Thyme and Sage) and garlic powder.
Smoked it @225 for 4.50 hours and then did an IT check.  (This is without the temp probe I just purchased)

Was SOOO excited when the probe hit 160 that I pulled it out and came in the house victorious!!!  Only to double check info and recall that it should be 165!!!   Oven is now baking the turkey at 325 until the breast reads 165!

Not discouraged...just disappointed a bit, but sooo TOTALLY excited!!!!  YAHOOO!!!!

Just informed hubby that I will be going to the meat processors to get briskets, ribs, prime rib roast, chickens, brats, etc.  He's trying to reel me back in, but the possibilities are ENDLESS!!! 

Okay...we will wait until the turkey is at 165 and try it.  If I send my husband to the hospital with food poisoning, I will probably have to sell my new toy!   :'(

Took pics of the  turkey after I pulled it out.  They are on my phone.  Will take more pics when we cut into it.  Will post both when I can figure it out. 

I'm so excited, and I just can't hide it....I'm about to lose control and I think I like it!!!!!

Signed,
WessPort
From Oz

WessPort

Re: My virgin smoking trial...
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2014, 08:54:00 PM »
Did 1 hour in 325 d oven and  now letting it rest for 30 minutes and having a hard time concentrating on anything else!!!!   The aroma is KILLING ME!!!!!!!!

WessPort

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2014, 10:15:16 PM »
SOOO very happy,happy, happy!!!!  Hubby is on board...kind of...he loved the turkey breast........

now on to bigger and
better things!!!

Pork Belly