Author Topic: Open or Not Open the Smoker During the Cooking Process  (Read 7557 times)

rowsteve65

Open or Not Open the Smoker During the Cooking Process
« on: November 13, 2014, 11:18:08 PM »
Gang,

I'm brand new to smoking meats, and I just received my new Model 2 and will be seasoning it tomorrow.  I had what might seem to be a dumb question.  I've read about the 2-2-1 method for ribs, and also varying things about either opening or not opening the smoker during the cooking process.  Is it OK to interrupt the smoker operation to spray the meat, put a "mop" on the meat, etc?  Or, as some advice I've read suggests, is it better never to open the smoker until the cooking process is finished?  Are there some meats where it's OK to interrupt the smoke to baste with sauce or spray, and some where it's not?  Thanks, and sorry for the dumb beginner questions.

Steve

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
Re: Open or Not Open the Smoker During the Cooking Process
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 05:19:43 PM »
There are no dumb questions on this forum!   If you are using the 2-2-1 method, you will need to open the smoker to remove the ribs for foiling, etc.  The key when opening the door is quickness as you will experience heat loss when the door is open.  Having said that, the #2 will regain the lost heat pretty quickly.  When I am planning to open the smoker, I try to do it when the unit is at the highest temperature, so that the loss doesn't take the temp too far down in the unit.  When I do ribs, for example, I keep them in "no peeky" for at least 4.5 hours, then take them out to sauce and back in for another hour.   The time that the door is open is minimal and I have not seen the need for additional time to finish the ribs.

As for mopping the meat, I don't do it and I don't really think it is necessary...the #2 will maintain good moisture, especially if you put a small loaf pan of liquid in the bottom next to the wood box.