Author Topic: Newbie needs to talk turkey  (Read 3630 times)

Suzie-Q

Newbie needs to talk turkey
« on: November 01, 2014, 02:53:05 PM »
Hello!  This is my first time to join a forum so I'll need some TLC.  :) I bought the Smokin' It #1 because of Lee Goldberg's advice. Thanks Lee!  I spent the summer experimenting much to the delight of husband & son.  Now the most important cookin' day is on the horizon, Thanksgiving.  I need the low down on the following: How big a bird will fit in the #1?  I'm planning on a brine first, of course.  Wet or dry, I'm not sure yet.  What temperature/How long do you smoke? I've got a digital thermometer so that helps a lot.  What wood works best for this?  I'm thinking pecan or apple?  Do I have to move the bird to my kitchen oven for final cooking to crisp the skin?  My son loves that on the Thanksgiving turkey but the low temperature setting for smoking does not seem to be able to accomplish that.  Sorry for all the questions.  ::) I'm counting on all your help fellow Smokin' It Chefs!

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Newbie needs to talk turkey
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 05:33:41 PM »
Hi Suzie!  Welcome to the club!

Here's a link to a "group" turkey smoke we did last Thanksgiving:

http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=1172.0

Here's a great post on a small turkey:

http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=1172.0

I love this technique of using "mire poix" in the bird - equal parts of chopped onion, celery and carrots.  This really stabilizes the temp while cooking, and gives the meat an incredible flavor!