Author Topic: New Category  (Read 5819 times)

Kal

New Category
« on: August 20, 2014, 10:06:26 AM »
Hey Divot Maker, might I suggest a new category for the website?

Could you start a category that we smokers can use to tell how badly our smokes turned out? You can label it "Horror Stories", "WTF" or "To Stupid to Live", a category that informs others about what not to do when smoking.

I will spare you the gory details from the past weekend but let’s just say it had all of the elements of a really bad smoke in one sitting, undercooked, overcooked, over smoked and guests that left hungry.

I am new to smoking so I am not beating myself up too much; actually my wife and I had a pretty good laugh over a bottle or two of wine about the $ 70.00 worth of food that went in the trash.

Thoughts?
Kal

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: New Category
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 04:00:20 PM »
Hi Kal,

I applaud you thinking outside the box and trying to come up with a new category that will help people.

But, I don't know that I would really want to have a section focused on the negative. I think some of the things that Tony and the rest are doing to post pinned threads and sections such as the following are more effective:

What to Do When It Arrives - http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?board=48.0
Basics for a Beginner - http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?board=50.0

We have all had our failures, and sharing them with the group helps us all find answers on how we could improve them. But sections like the above can help new users reduce the number and severity of the failures.

These are my 2 cents.

Gregg - Fargo, ND
Smokin-It #3 (purchased in 2014) that replaced a Masterbuilt XL (ugh) and a 10+ Year-Old Big Chief (still used for fish), and few others over the years, along with variety of Weber Gas/Charcoal Grills, Anova Sous Vide, etc. devices.

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 07:21:48 PM »