Author Topic: Newbie here - Smoking Brisket in the SI2 and need some help!  (Read 5716 times)

jblood323

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie here and am proud to announce that I recently purchased a SI2. I seasoned it last weekend and did some baby back for my first smoke that came out great, thanks to doing some research on the forums here.  I'm a Texas native, now living in San Francisco, and have been dying to bring some Texas style BBQ to my friends and family out here.  But alas, I don't have the trusty stick burner that I have always used back home.  So I have a few questions about smoking brisket in my #2.

First off, how big of a packer cut can I fit in this thing? I'm thinking max 10#, but am not quite sure.  I refuse to cook the flat alone because I love the moistness of the point so much, but now that I am confined to a little less rack space I am in quite the dilemma.

Secondly, how long after turning the smoker on (225) do you wait to put the brisket in?  I have never used an auber or temp. gauge with my brisket and have always gone by time and look. But with the electric smoker and small amount of wood, I'm hesitant to open the door and let all the smoke and heat out. Is a temp probe necessary while cooking in the SI2? And if so, do you put your probe in the point or in the flat? From what I see on here, you need to pull at 190.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Pork Belly

• Global Moderator
Re: Newbie here - Smoking Brisket in the SI2 and need some help!
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 02:56:36 AM »
The simple solution would be know your rack measurements and take a tape measure when you go meat shopping. I have a #3 and cant speak to what fits in your #2. I recommend getting a good probe thermometer to monitor internal temp on your meat.