Author Topic: Brand new Smoker #2  (Read 3373 times)

rkr

Brand new Smoker #2
« on: October 24, 2015, 12:50:04 PM »
Just got my Smoker #2.  Fired it up to season it this morning.  Mmmm!  What a wonderful smell!  I am totally new to all of this.  Am thinking that tomorrow I'll start with a couple of chickens, but I also have about 4 pounds of ground beef.   Any suggestions for ground beef?   
Also, I already have really small wood chunks.  I see that having a little screen would be good to purchase for the wood box.  Is there something else someone has tried?  I'm going to ask my kids for all the "extras" for Christmas.  In the meantime, I'd like to use up the small wood chips.

Thanks for any suggestions!
Bexx from Maryland

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
Re: Brand new Smoker #2
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2015, 01:18:09 PM »
Welcome Bexx from Saint Augustine and also a proud #2 owner!

I hope you enjoy your smoker as much as I do!

Greg

smokeasaurus

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2015, 02:05:00 PM »
I gotta great idea for that ground beef:  smoked burgers!!  No flare ups.....no flipping.....no shrinking......they are smokey, moist and juicy. I do em in SI#3 and in my charcoal pits.

Congrats on your #2  8) 8)
Got Smoke?
Smokin It #2 and stand
Weber Performer
Weber Redhead
Gabby Grills Santa Maria and Rotisserie
PK Grill
Blackstone 36 inch Flat Top

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2015, 02:13:33 PM »
I agree with Scott smoked burgers in these babies taste great, just go light on the wood. Below is a link of some bison burgers I did.

http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=3098.msg23747#msg23747

Greg

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2015, 04:57:21 PM »