Author Topic: "Top Secret" Leaked!! New "Prototype" Electronic Smokin-It Model 2!  (Read 37445 times)

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
December 2015 Update!
We finally did it!  The new Model 2D and Model 3D are now available!  These smokers have an integrated PID controller, designed by Auber Instruments, so it works the same as a standalone Auber PID.  Check them out here:

Product Release:  Smokin-It Model 2D and 3D

Boy, am I excited!

I got my hands on a new prototype for testing - the Electronic Smokin-It Model 2!  I'm grateful to Steve and Ben for giving me the opportunity to test this bad boy out!

Let me give a couple of "disclaimers" before I tell you all about it:

1.  This is the FIRST prototype of the new electronic controller; there will most likely be some issues to address, but that's what this is for!  We want to work-out all the "bugs" before releasing this unit.

2.  I'm not a Professional Product Tester, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. ;)

3.  Feedback/suggestions are welcome!  That's another reason for this posting!

4.  I just got hold of it night before last, so the pictures/videos aren't the best quality, but did the best I could with very limited time.  There will be MANY more reviews to come!

5.  There is a "known" issue regarding accuracy of the electronic controller.  This is being addressed, and I'll be evaluating it extensively.

Okay, now that the lawyers are happy,  ;) , we can get down to business!

I unwrapped, cleaned and mounted it on the cart night before last.  Last night, I was able to season the unit.  Some very interesting things were discovered in those few hours, some of which I'll get into later.

Initial impressions:

1.  I have a model 1, so I was definitely impressed with the size of the model 2!