Author Topic: Ahh...frustrated. Seeking smoking gods  (Read 5637 times)

berenst

Ahh...frustrated. Seeking smoking gods
« on: May 16, 2013, 10:46:13 PM »
I am a smoking noob but have been reading and trying the past 9 weeks on my #2.  I am running into the same two issues with both my pork butt and brisket.   
1. Smoke ring: I know this is mainly show but would love to have one
2. Tenderness without drying out (mine have been either one or the other, not both)

My smoking practice for both has been to place meat in cold and cold smoker to cook at 225*, wait for internal temp to hit 190, remove, place in foil and rest 1 to 3 hours.  I've used a variety of dry rubs, all put on with a yellow mustard base 12 hours in advance.  I have been smoking with apple chunks (three pieces at start and after two hours replace with two more).   I baste with Apple juice every two hours.  As a note,  I am only cook one of the meats at a time.  Not putting brisket and pork in at the same time. 
Thanks ahead of time for any help and/or advice.

UWFSAE

• Smoker, Griller, & International Man of Mystery
Re: Ahh...frustrated. Seeking smoking gods
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 11:38:57 PM »
With regard to smoke ring, electric smokers don't promote combustion, which means no smoke ring.  If you want one, many put a charcoal briquette in the smoker box along with the wood, which promotes what you're looking for.  Alternatively, you could always put on a uniform coat of Morton's Tender-Quick for 10 minutes or so and you'll have a pink sodium nitrite ring.

With regard to moisture, you have several options.  First, you can use a water pan of some sort; Smokin-It does sell a nice little hanging reservoir for liquids which will promote a moist environment for smoking.  Alternatively, beyond the spritzing you're doing, you may want to consider injections, brines, or marinades depending on the type of meat and the flavor profile you're looking for.
Joe from Houston, TX