Author Topic: Prime Rib: How long to smoke?  (Read 6920 times)

cjdavia@gmail.com

Prime Rib: How long to smoke?
« on: August 23, 2018, 10:56:41 AM »
Hi everyone!  I'm a newbie and hoping that some of you experienced smokers can give me some advice!

The butcher will be calling later today to pick up a choice standing prime rib, somewhere in the 5-7 rib count range.  Looks to be a heavy cut of beef! 

I'm planning on following Divotmaker's game plan: 200 degrees with a reverse sear.  This is a pricey dinner and I don't want to ruin it, so I have a few questions for you!

1. My guess is we're talking about 10-15lbs of beef... for planning purposes, how long might this take to cook?  1/2 hr per pound?  Or 5 hrs max?  what are your thoughts?

2. Any concerns with cooking this so long and low?  We don't want uncooked food to sit in the danger zone for too long!

3. Should I use large double-chunks of smokelicious our cut them into smaller bits?  Lately I've noticed incomplete burns on the wood and am wondering if I should use smaller pieces for low-temp cooks.

Any help is appreciated!  Can't wait to cook this on Saturday

Chris
Chris
Madison, CT

cjdavia@gmail.com

Re: Prime Rib: How long to smoke?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2018, 04:36:21 PM »
OK I just brought the beast home... it is 14.2 lbs.   

Any advice on whether it is safe to cook it at 200 and how long it might take?

Thanks so much!
Chris
Chris
Madison, CT

cjdavia@gmail.com

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2018, 11:38:13 AM »
Any takers? 

I'm thinking that I'll bump up the cooking temp to 220 and let 'er ride!
Another alternative is to separate the rib component instead of leaving it attached....

decisions, decisions!
Chris
Madison, CT

Walt

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2018, 02:16:31 PM »