Author Topic: Question before buying?  (Read 5872 times)

DavidPDX

Question before buying?
« on: March 02, 2020, 07:55:02 PM »
I’m considering buying a #1 or #2 analog and have a lingering question. Do these cookers get enough smoky flavor? Seems like I’m reading smoke lasts 1 to 1.5 hours and longer smokes are going 12 to 18ish hours. Judging by all the rave reviews it must not be a problem. I’ve also considered a vertical pellet smoker but these electric units seem so easy and so well built. I have no experience to compare to, just tell me there’s enough smoky flavor goodness and I’m sold!

Thanks,
David

barelfly

Re: Question before buying?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2020, 11:01:35 PM »
I think they give off enough smoke to provide great smoked meat. My buddy has a Traeger and I feel the Smokin-it gives a better end product. The only true difference that would be noticed from a pellet cooker and a true stick burner would be the pink smoke ring you get.

Now, if you came from a stick burner and started using the Smokin-it, you may say it’s a lighter smoke. But, from reading about the various smokers, especially pellet cookers, I think this Smokin-it is a better buy and much easier to use, which, around we here we call it Lazy-q style smoking.

I am very happy with my 3D unit. It fits the bill for what I want and need. Would I like a big ol stick burner, yes. Do I need it for my style of smoking, no. I have my Weber kettle for that if I want. So, the smokin-it cookers should do you well.

Let me know if you have any other questions. Happy to help, as is everyone else around here!
Jeremy in NM
3D for lazy q
Bullet 4 burner gasser by Bull Grills
Weber Kettle with a Slow n Sear

DavidPDX

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2020, 11:30:59 PM »
Thanks Jeremy,
This is what I’m looking for. I can live without the smoke ring, just want to make sure the flavor is there. The digital units are appealing but reading through posts I’m won over by the simplicity of the analog.

David