Author Topic: 1st Attempt at Beef Jerky  (Read 21035 times)

Smokster

• Model #3 Owner
1st Attempt at Beef Jerky
« on: August 12, 2013, 02:05:17 PM »
Hi,

I just picked up my model #3 with the jerky fan attachment and I am hoping that someone can share their marinade recipes which they have used for beef jerky.  I have about 8 pounds of sliced beef and prefer something on the sweet side with a bit of spice.

As well, at what tempurature do you set the smoker to and for how long and what amount of wood should I use?  Any help is appreciated.
Tony from Toronto
Smokin It and Lovin It

UWFSAE

• Smoker, Griller, & International Man of Mystery
Re: 1st Attempt at Beef Jerky
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2013, 04:02:44 PM »
I've been debating on that jerky dryer attachment for a couple of months now ... PLEASE post a review once you've given it a go.  While I can't help you with the temps or times, I can give you the recipe I use when I do jerky in a dehydrator:

1/2 cup soy sauce (I use Kimlan Ponlai soy sauce ... it's killer)
1/2 cup worcestershire sauce
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup pineapple juice
1/2 cup aged white balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup teriyaki sauce (I use La Choy)
1/4 cup molasses
2 tbsp liquid smoke (delete this if you're doing it in the smoker)
1 tbsp onion powder
1 tbsp garlic powder
2 tsp cracked black pepper
2 tsp red pepper flakes

That should be plenty of marinade for four pounds of thinly sliced flank steak; it's a sweet-hot flavor (my personal favorite) but playing around with it is easy to do.

Good luck please let us (me!) know how it goes ...
Joe from Houston, TX
Proud owner of a Smokin-It #3!

Smokster

• Model #3 Owner
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2013, 11:44:55 AM »
Joe:  Thanks for the recipe.

I will give this recipe a try as the ingredients will acheive the results that I am looking for in terms of flavour.